The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Acoustic Amplification

Old 04-24-2017, 06:43 AM

Default Dual Source Board: K&K + Mag (Black Angel)

Hi,

I've been messing around with dual sources for 3-4 years, and I always just used my 2 channel amp to mix the two signals. But recently I started to put a board together and am pretty happy with the results... both of the board, and of the pickup combination.

First, the pickups. The K&K is well known and appreciated for what it does. I've tried a lot of pickups with it (Anthem, Lyric, mic), but a magnetic works best for me. The mag adds the high end cut and string articulation that the K&K lacks; and I also add a little bass too. They are both passive - which means no batteries or power sources, but requires a preamp or buffer.

Now for the board:

Tip: Black Angel > TurboTuner > GE-7 > LS-2 > RV-6
Ring: K&K > ParaEQ > Session > LS-2 > RV-6

The LS-2 is the mixer and has a couple different modes that could work. The Session and TurboTuner both can mute each input selectively during setup time, while the LS-2 acts as a master mute.

It's important to note that K&K likes a 1 Mohm input impedance, and the ParaEQ, GE-7 and LS-2 all have that. But the Session is 10 Mohm, so it works best not to go directly into that else it makes it even more muddy in the low end. GE-7 adds some a 100, 3.2k and 6.4k for the mag, while the ParaEQ removes some midrange between 400-800 Hz for the K&K.

I use the Session mainly for the CompEQ and it's nice to have the notch filter on it too. I tried the Session after the LS-2, but I don't like as much compression on the mag as I do the K&K. I think this allows me to get more aggressive with it. Seems like when I play soft or fingerpick the K&K is dominant, whereas when I strum loud or pick hard, the mag comes out more. I could be wrong, I'm still learning about this dynamic.

'13 Jaffrey #26 - Malaysian Blackwood!