The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Other Musical Instruments

Old 02-20-2012, 12:18 PM

Default Anyone teach themselves violin?

I'd guess most of us guitar players are self-taught, at least initially. I'm wondering if the violin is something that can be self-taught also or would that be an exercise in futility?

I have been playing guitar for decades (had 18 months of lessons after almost 30 years of playing) but I don't consider myself a "real musician" so I've never advanced beyond mediocre. Saw a guy at an open mic recently who was a decent guitar player and also played fiddle. Didn't get to ask if he was self taught or what but by his technique, he appeared pretty amateurish (but I enjoyed it anyway.)

Just wondering.
Old 02-20-2012, 01:15 PM

I played violoin before high school. There's a lot to getting good tone. I would say you need some help. Does it have to be formal training? No. But interacting with experienced folks on a regular basis is probably mandatory. Did I mention there's a lot of technique to getting good tone?
Old 02-20-2012, 02:05 PM

You can of course learn to do anything on your own. Anything that doesn't get you killed when you mess up anyway.

Violin... well it depends on how fast you can run and a few other factors but the odds aren't in your favor.

If you still want to risk it...
1) Consider an electric. Conventional violins are loud enough to keep you from hearing the mob as it rushes you.
2) Get yourself a stack of little dot stickers and a tuner. Tune up, then figure out where your fingers should go and stick the dots in those places on the fingerboard. Maybe consider just practicing touching dots instead of playing.