The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 11-27-2021, 02:13 AM

Default Looking for a second £500-£800 guitar, quite fancy an electro acoustic

Firstly, hi all. I couldn't find a intro section so it's worth saying hello given this is my first post.

I'm originally from the North of England, but currently live in Bedfordshire which is about 40 miles north of London. I'm an amateur player of acoustic guitars and first picked one up when I was around 10 years old. I had a laminate tanglewood until about 3 years ago and then decided to buy something a bit nicer as I was starting to get into it a bit more. I subsequently bought a Martin D15M for £850 second hand and I love it, but as with all of my playing, I tend to dip in and out for 20 mins here and there and don't really finish learning music and never seem to master a particular piece.

Anyway, to the point. I'm a fingerstyle player and I've decided I'd like a new guitar for Xmas. I quite fancy an electro acoustic, but don't ask me why. I think it's because the Martin plays beautifully, but it can sometimes be a little quiet on the tones and some of the music gets dulled down. I'm not against getting another acoustic, but thought about the best of both worlds if I just got the former.

I'm not well educated when it comes to guitars and have been reading various posts on here to get an idea of well regarded brands. I've picked up that Eastman and Seagull get fairly good backing at the price range in looking at, and it's good to see my own D15M get a frequent shout for being a good guitar. I personally bought it on a whim! I don't really want to buy second hand, but for no other reason than I'm looking at getting this for Xmas and time is against me.