The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 11-23-2017, 12:01 PM

Default Need help choosing strings or any other tips about pickups

Hey guys! I'm new here

I recently got a used Cort Earth 200 dreadnought guitar. However the strings are really hard and painful on my fingers. I have been playing for many years but the strings were much stiffer compared to others I have played.

I have tried some taylors and martins and they are always such a joy to strum and the strings feel much softer and smoother. What strings should I change to on my guitar. I was looking towards the Martin lifespan strings.

Secondly, this guitar also does not come with a pickup system installed. I am interested in getting a good pickup for this guitar, and I saw some soundhole pickups. What's good out there that's affordable and delivers quality.

Thanks guys!
Old 11-23-2017, 01:33 PM

Soundhole pick-ups are magnetic, not acoustic, so you'll be picking up the sound of the strings alone without the build component that makes them sound like they're from an acoustic guitar. Most now have an embedded circuit that filters the frequencies to give them a sound that more closely emulates an acoustic guitar. But, it's a factory-stock sound that's the same regardless of the guitar the pick-up is used on. So, go cheap if it's a mag pup. Given the choices I'd stay with a mag pup due to low-to-zero feed back and the ability to go direct to the amp without a preamp in the chain. Sound-wise, you'll do okay. The mag pup performance is much less finicky than other sources and usually balance easily at the amp.

On the string versus feel aspect I couldn't tell you. Just change them out to a set you're used to and see how that goes. If they're still uncomfortable I'd wager you need a set-up.
Old 11-23-2017, 01:37 PM