The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 05-26-2022, 06:33 AM

Default David Hamburger - Fretboard Confidential Review

Quick background:

I have been playing for fifteen years. My quest to be competent at fingerstyle guitar probably began about eight years ago. Most of my learning has been online, but I have taken several weekends of in person courses, notably with Toby Walker and Martin Grosswendt. I have downloaded more lessons than I care to admit and have subscribed to many services like Truefire, Active Melody and Jamplay. In short, I am always searching for a better learning experience. And as much as I adore a live workshop, these are expensive and require a lot of juggling in my personal life. So online lessons have been a mainstay.

You’ve heard the adage that when you’re ready, the right teacher will appear. And for now, it looks like I have found him. Highly respected AGF friend "Reeve21" (we're on similar playing paths) recommended "Fretboard Confidental" earlier in the month. I had previously taken David Hamburger’s courses on Truefire. They were good, but not the leap I needed. On Bob's reccommendation, I re-visited his site and gave him my credit card.

Fretboard Confidential:

I was happy to see that as much as I have been working on my playing style over the years, David has been working on his teaching style and organization. The site is centered around month long lessons. David breaks a monthly song into its component parts. This last month, the song was “House of the Rising Sun.” Of course, the past months are available along with a good number of videos on technique and theory.

This month's components were:
  • Fundamental Song
  • Embellished Song
  • Vamp
  • Shout Chorus
Horizontal three step Exercise(his description)
1) Isolate the bass
2) Isolate the melody
3) Put them together
  • Groove and Syncopation Technique Exercises
  • Accompaniment