The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Build and Repair

Old 05-15-2019, 04:42 AM

Default Vintage Di Giorgio nylon string guitar - basket case or worth restoring??

Hey folks, I picked up this old Di Giorgio for $50 sight unseen. Unfortunately there is a whole lot wrong with it that the seller did not disclose, and after agreeing to a refund has reneged on the refund and done a "runner"...

Worst part is there has been a wood boring beetle infestation (hopefully in the past)... I think that may account for a few of the cracks and gouges (mostly in the side)..

I am a novice with regard to guitar repair/restoration but I would like to learn.

Firstly, is this old guitar worth restoring or is it a proverbial basket case?

If it is worth some effort, any advice on the job would be appreciated... I have begun with dripping a wood borer insecticide in the boring holes and cracks.

Old 05-15-2019, 07:03 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aden View Post
Hey folks, I picked up this old Di Giorgio for $50 sight unseen. Unfortunately there is a whole lot wrong with it that the seller did not disclose, and after agreeing to a refund has reneged on the refund and done a "runner"...

Worst part is there has been a wood boring beetle infestation (hopefully in the past)... I think that may account for a few of the cracks and gouges (mostly in the side)..

I am a novice with regard to guitar repair/restoration but I would like to learn.

Firstly, is this old guitar worth restoring or is it a proverbial basket case?

If it is worth some effort, any advice on the job would be appreciated... I have begun with dripping a wood borer insecticide in the boring holes and cracks.
IMHO that's all you need to know right there... Have at it. What have you got to loose?
Old 05-15-2019, 07:30 AM

Don't see many flat sawn tops for nylon. Sure, why not give it a go? Experience is a good thing.
Old 05-18-2019, 11:19 PM