The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 02-20-2019, 07:47 AM

Default I could use come advice buying a mid-tier guitar

Hello fellow guitar enthousiasts!

As you can read in the title, I'm looking for a good mid-tier guitar.
Let me start off with a little background information.

About a decade ago I started off with a Washburn D-10, then added a Baby Taylor as a travel guitar which I started playing exclusively. It sounds truly amazing for such a tiny guitar. But it's time for the real deal.

Now what do I like and need in a guitar. I like a balanced tone, dislike tinny highs and heavy lows. I definitely need decent electronics. My budget is about 1000-1500 euro.

Following are the current options, but you're always welcome to advise others.

-Currently I am looking at a Taylor 314ce L7 (ltd) from 2004. It has Tasmanian blackwood back and sides which apparently resembles Koa, but more balanced. It has the Taylor Expression System 1. The seller is willing to let it go for 1300 Euro which, having checked reverb.com, seems a bit steep. But then again.. what are these worth? The 314's I found on reverb were standards ranging from 920-1100 euro. I do think I will be selling the guitar in about 5-10 years when it might be time for a change, so I would like to get back most, if not all, of what I spend.

-Another option would be a Taylor 510e from 2016 with the ES2 electronics for a slightly over-budget 1600 euro.

-Taylor 414 from 2002 with a Fishman Prefix Stereo Blender for 1000 euro.

-Taylor Academy 10e or 12e, these are cheap in comparison, around 600 euro. However they are made in Mexico and do not have solid wood back and sides. One thing I absolutely love about these is the armrest and quick action.

-And lastly a Taylor 710ce from 2004 for a far above budget 2000 euro. -is this worth it?