The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > Other Discussions > Open Mic

Old 05-01-2018, 09:03 AM

Default What do you wax your car with? (If at all?)

I've always gotten my absolute best result with good ol' Turtle Wax hardshell wax. You know, that pasty green stuff. I love the look of it, especially when buffed out. My dad used that spray-on wax every once in a while with good results, but I always questioned its durability over time. I'm not sure if polish protects as well as a good hardshell wax, but I'm no expert. I like the results of hardshell, but I'm looking at other options that may be a little easier and less time-consuming. I've used liquid wax as well, but to be honest, it's been so long ago (20 years maybe?), I don't remember the results.

What do you use? Results?
Old 05-01-2018, 09:45 AM

I never wax, or even wash my car. Just let the sun and rain take care of things for me.
Old 05-01-2018, 10:21 AM

For my daily driver, just a synthetic spray wax with some UV protection. Weekend fun car is a different story (Obsession Warning). First a clear bra after professional surface preparation. Then a ceramic coating on top of that. Then a liquid gloss treatment (Adams Polishes makes a great one) that will last 3-4 weeks to really make it shine.

Cincy
Old 05-01-2018, 10:27 AM

I've used a bunch. I used Meguiars Cleaner Wax for years and though it was the best.

Until I tried Liquid Glass, based on a tip from a car-detailing obsessed friend.

https://www.amazon.com/Liquid-Glass-.../dp/B0002JMIEK

Thousands of reviews, and 4.5 star rating.

It's not wax. Not silicone, not oil, not grease, not teflon. They call it "clear carbon"... I'm not sure what that even is, but it is great. Ridiculously easy to use, also. Not allowed in California - so you know it must be good!
Old 05-01-2018, 10:51 AM
G625 mistral-k