The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Build and Repair

Old 09-15-2021, 07:04 PM

Default Mold Making?

I am fairly new to acoustic guitar building, on my 3rd, but I have built some banjos, electrics and a couple ukes.

My method of mold making seems to differ from most I have seen and I am wondering if anyone with more experience sees anything inherently wrong with it. In other words, will my guitars likely turn out badly?

I first laminate plywood or chipboard (often from scrap ikea furniture found on the roadside) to 4 to 6" or so thick, 6 to 8 layers, leaving the middle around the outside free of glue. I carefully cut out the guitar shape on bandsaw, drum sand smooth then butterfly the outer unglued part for my female mold, leaving the guitar shaped thick part to bend the sides on. The saw kerf and sanding should leave relief for the side thickness.

Most of what I see are people making one piece and duplicating with a pattern bit then laminating together afterwards. Isn't it difficult to glue all the pieces together accurately?

The shown mold is my recent for a 0 size. I used 1 inch baltic birch for this one.

Comments invited.

Last edited by Fathand; 09-15-2021 at 07:25 PM. Reason: Trying to add pic
Old 09-15-2021, 07:07 PM

Hmmm any idea why I can't add a pic from Flckr?

Old 09-15-2021, 07:25 PM
Charter Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fathand View Post
Hmmm any idea why I can't add a pic from Flckr?

https://www.flickr.com/photos/419932...tetaken-public
I don't know nothin' about flckr, but it is giving you a url to something that's
not an image...

-Mike
Old 09-15-2021, 07:26 PM
AGF Sponsor

Molds are over rated. Haven't used one for 25 years. Check out my nearby thread in the Custom shop.

To get a picture to show it must be hosted somewhere, and then capture the address in html tags: [img]address[/img]
Old 09-15-2021, 07:33 PM

Quote: