The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 02-17-2019, 12:28 PM
Guest 33123

Default let try this again: opinions on the future of my J-45

Hi guys,

I'd like to try this post again. I took some heat yesterday for not explaining the situation fully from the get go. Some of you though were kind enough to offer your thoughts on this topic so...

I want to hear your opinions on this non-urgent issue. I have a 2012 Gibson J-45 Standard. I can't decide whether to keep it or move on.

Some context:

I bought this guitar new. It has been played weekly+ for it's entire life with me. It is in fine shape with an excellent setup. It has been properly maintained in a climate and humidity controlled environment. It is stock except for a Colosi bone saddle.

I have been playing for 34 years, the last 17 fully acoustic. I fingerpick rags, blues and gospel in the RGD style with bare fingers. I have owned 3 Martins since the 90s. I have owned 5 Gibsons since the 90s. I love Martins and Gibsons equally for their distinct attributes.

Positive attributes of my J-45:

- It is the best sounding J-45 I have played.
- It records well.
- It has excellent action.
- It has a gorgeous burst (I know, I know but it does matter to me).
- It is paid for.

Negative attributes of my J-45 (these took time (years?) for me to realize):

- Major issue is that I find it difficult to sit with and play. In these moments my right shoulder feels "funny" when I play it and I feel like I'm wrestling with it to keep it in optimal playing position. Some times are better than others but the discomfort is happening more often. Could be an age thing since I'm turning 47. I don't like to stand and play so that's out.
- I find the neck profile too small. It is a slim taper. I prefer larger necks.