The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Closed Thread

Old 02-03-2020, 09:49 AM

Default Playing a wedding and I have some questions

Hi,
I've mentioned several times I play guitar and sing at my church and a couple weeks ago one of my choir members, and a very dear friend, asked me to play at her daughter's wedding.

Playing isn't really an issue for me as I've been playing at church for over 20 years but there is some family conflict with regards to which songs to play and I could use some AGF wisdom.

The wedding will be in a Catholic Church and the bride is Catholic while the groom is not. The groom's mother is a HUGE Beatles fan and sent a list to the couple asking for every song in the service to be one Beatles tune or another. With the mother of the bride being staunchly Catholic, this was a non-starter as Beatles music, while greatly appreciated, is not liturgical in any sense of the word.

When I received the list from the couple, it included a note that they were open to changes if I couldn't play the songs they'd sent. This same list was sent to the bride's mother, hence her reaction.

Yesterday she compiled a list that is somewhat of a compromise with "church" music for all parts but the recessional where "Here comes the Sun" is requested.

I'm ok with the selections of this new list except for the entrance where the bride's mother has selected, "Love me Tender"

She wants me to send the list to the couple without telling them she had anything to do with the selections. Apparently she feels they will reject them out of hand if they know she had anything to do with them.

I'm pretty sure I can handle the couple's potential reaction to changing the list but I'm at a bit of a loss as to what entrance song I should suggest.

Any ideas?

Thanks,
PJ
Old 02-03-2020, 10:00 AM

Hmmm...what does the COUPLE want?

Mom should shut up and wear beige.