The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Acoustic Amplification

Old 06-08-2021, 09:17 AM

Default 9v Batteries

What 9v batteries do you guys use for your pickups? Are there some that last longer? Do you use lithium, or alkaline? Good/bad experiences with rechargeables?
Old 06-08-2021, 10:09 AM

I use Duracells. The problem with Lithium and Rechargeables in my experience is that they’re typically a little thicker than alkaline batteries. You might be able to push them into the battery slot, but getting them out later will be difficult.
Old 06-08-2021, 10:20 AM

I've been using Amazon branded batteries for a couple years now for my acoustics and smoke detectors. With Prime free shipping they only cost $11.82 for 8 and they last me a long time. https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1
Old 06-08-2021, 11:05 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by bendandsnap View Post
I use Duracells. The problem with Lithium and Rechargeables in my experience is that they’re typically a little thicker than alkaline batteries. You might be able to push them into the battery slot, but getting them out later will be difficult.
That is true. Another problem is that while they do last a long time, when they do go it will be sudden. There is none of this "I hear a little distortion, I need to change the battery before the next gig". Instead, it will work perfectly until it does, then suddenly die completely. The third problem is that unlike alkaline batteries that are safe to put in the trash, you really should recycle lithium batteries to avoid toxic pollution.

They do last a heck of a long time though!
Old 06-08-2021, 01:25 PM
Charter Member

I use these lithium’s in everything now. They seem to last twice as long and even fit some guitars better which can prevent rattle.

https://amzn.to/3ggEc0h
Old 06-08-2021, 01:25 PM
Charter Member