The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 12-07-2019, 09:26 AM

Question Martin 000 dilemma

Greetings everyone. My first post here, looking for some input on a Martin 000.

I have been playing guitar on and off for a few years. No lessons, I just watch videos and read chord charts. I have gotten to a point where I can play the basic chords and change from one chord to another with out stopping. I am a noob. I have bought and returned a few guitars for a variety of reasons. About a year ago I got a Seagull S6 and have been enjoying playing it since. I have gotten to a point where I think I have found a sound/tone that is pleasing to my ear and a shape that is comfortable to play- the 000.

I have been researching and playing two Martin 000s for a few months. The 15m and the 18. Both sound amazing, but different. Though they both have that mahogany sound that I like. The 18 is crisp, bright, and alive. The 15 is warm, dry, and has a growl to my ears that the 18 does not. They also play a bit differently. The 15 almost plays like an electric guitar.

I am a couch player, not a performer. I do not attend bluegrass jams, nor do I plan to. I like to play at home after a long day to relax. Volume is not something I necessarily seek. In fact, mellow is preferred.

I recently took the plunge and got a 000-18 at a local shop on a Black Friday special. However, I can’t get the 15 out of my head.

So after all this rambling- here is my question. Did I buy too much guitar with the 000-18? Would I be better suited with the 000-15? Is the 000-15m an heirloom quality guitar?

I have poured through many threads on this topic, and it seems that there is no bad choice here. I am curious to read perspectives from folks with much more experience than me. Thank you in advance for your input.
Old 12-07-2019, 09:36 AM

I play only fingerstyle.