The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 07-29-2019, 12:51 PM
Charter Member

Default Synesthesia anyone?

I’m relatively new to music and the guitar. I came to it late - early 50’s. While learning a finger style version of Schubert’s Ave Maria I began having a reoccurring dream where I could “see” the musical note magnified and could take a long look at the geometric make up of the note. I now “think” I know what a C’s geometric fractal looks like.
Uhm, yes, I’m sober.
I also had an experience where I contracted the flu. It was while I was trying to learn the fingering to Blackbird. While sleeping with high fever I “played” it in my mind for what seemed like 1,000 times. It was a serious fever dream. A “shape” of cord progression and fingerings where seared Into my mind. The next day, to my wife’s amazement, I could play it as if I had been playing it all my life.
As a clinician I am familiar with synesthesia in general but was specifically unaware of Spacial Synesthesia, one of the 60 types of synesthesia.
In talking to many friends, some musicians, many not, Ive found individuals who have reoccurring scents perceived when hearing music. They could not tell me if the specific smell varies with key, genres, tempos, etc.. Some individuals report seeing color with music. Some see music in three dimensions. There are others I’m sure. All the people who reported such experience said they always assumed everyone had similar sensations ( didn’t realize it was unique) or they had never discussed it because they thought it was seemed too “crazy”.
Of course there are many types of synesthesia, with only a fraction involving audible stimuli.
Anyone on the forum with a synesthetic experience?
Cheers.
Old 07-29-2019, 01:16 PM