The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Build and Repair

Old 06-19-2014, 10:08 AM

Default finish bah humbug

I'm far from a professional or expert but over the years I've made a few solid body instruments from scratch and refinished many more.

It seems to me that finishes aimed specifically at luthiers are finicky and dangerous or problematic and expensive. I've used pore-o-pac filler, that other behlen filler, shellac, nitro sanding sealer and CA glue as a filler. As a topcoat I've tried Nitro, and acrylic lacquer, and Qualisol, no longer available, and tru oil, now I'm using KMT9 with a shellac undercoat. They all have different serious liabilities.

Years ago I remember a post from Rick Turner where he said he was using "oil modified urethane" meant for floors. He said it was cheap, readily available, and did everything you want in a finish--cured fast, cured hard, leveled well, looked good. Could be applied thin.

Recognizing that it takes time to master the skill of finishing, and it's probably better to stick with a single method and make it work, I think next time I try this I'm going to go with something like that. Something commonly available at Home Depot or the paint store.
Old 06-19-2014, 10:29 AM

A friend of mine points out that, when there are a lot of ways to do something, it's a sign either that all of them work, or none of them do. I'm convinced that guitar finishes are a case of 'none'. We're all trying to find the 'perfect' finish when none of them are even 'good' for our use.

Up until they discontinued it, I used the old 'Rock Hard Table Top' varnish from Behlen's. It took me some years to figure out how to deal with all the problems, especially 'witness lines', but I got it to work pretty well. Then they stopped making it (the new formulation is a polyurethane).