The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Custom Shop

Old 11-22-2022, 03:24 PM
Charter Member

Default Coming soon...a new kid on the block!

I am very active on LinkedIn and often post videos of me playing the guitar and little articles about guitars I have owned.

A couple of weeks ago, out of the blue I had a message from someone saying that their partner had “made a guitar and it was really good” (yeah right). I sent a message back saying they are welcome to come and look at my guitars (for inspiration) and to bring it with them.

So they came and brought the instrument.

Self taught, with an engineering background but no woodworking experience and certainly no guitar building experience or training.

When they opened the case I was speechless.

To say this was an outstanding instrument is a majestic piece of understatement. It was better than 99% of the instruments I have ever played (and I have played a lot). The fit and finish was faultless, every bit as good as anything I have seen from anyone and this would not be out of place hanging in the wall of Dream Guitars or Luthiers Collection.

They want to quit their job and become a luthier. So I have said they should make 2 or 3 more instruments that are equally good (a little simpler in design and finalising some of the details - headstock, binding style etc) before they make that jump as this I quite competitive space and everyone needs to see that this wasn’t just a lucky fluke.

I will post again when the next couple of instruments are built and I will be buying the first of them.

This person has such a natural talent I am confident they will become a star!

Watch this space.

Martin OM-28 Authentic '31
Mear & Gray OM18
Martin 0-28vs
Stephen Eden Crossover
Hahn 228 Telecaster
National Delphi Resonator

YouTube