The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > RECORD

Old 07-28-2020, 09:04 AM

Question Starter Recording Rig - Where Begin

I would like to record my acoustic steel string (Eastman E20 OMCE) and a couple classical guitars. Just solo; no singing.

I am a total rookie at acoustic recording, and would greatly appreciate guidance on a starter setup. I am looking for “decent” home studio quality, but not expecting miracles. If possible an initial rig that I could build upon as my needs, experience grow would be good.

My fairly limited recording experience to date is with an archtop electric guitar (Sadowsky SS-15). I record in 2 ways: 1) directly into GarageBand using a Presonus AudioBox iTwo external sound interface, or 2) I mic my Fender Blues Jr amp with a Shure SM57 dynamic mic (also connected to the external interface).

So, equipment I already have:
1) an external interface that can handle 2 mics
2) a Shure SM57 mic
3) a Presonus M7 condenser mic (came in a bundle with the Presonus AudioBox iTwo)
4) Presonus headphones which came in same bundle.

Should I start with the mics I have? Or are they really not what you want for recording acoustic guitar? From my initial reading, it appears that a dynamic mic is perhaps not what you want for acoustic guitar.

It’s pretty clear from the reading that you need 2 mics, and that one experiments with these various positions that I barely understand (XY, Mid-Side...). Thus, I assume I need 2 mic stands, so that I can position the mics.

So, what do suggest?
1) Mics - Use the Presonus M7, and buy a second condenser mic? Or just buy two new condenser mics? If so, what kind?
2) Mic stands - Do I need 2 for flexibility in positioning, or do I want one of these holders of I have seen that holds a pair (which might mean you are locked into a specific mic positioning)?

(Fewer mic stands to kick over might be nice, but two may be a necessity. Don’t know.)