The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Classical

Old 05-07-2012, 04:04 PM

Default After Flamenco is there Anything Else?

Have you ever found that after learning or starting to learn to play Flamenco nothing else seems quite as challenging or entertaining? Maybe the same can be said for Jazz players?

I mean there is so much new material to cover that the old 1-4-5 - folk, country, rock - just seems to bore me - not that I am an expert at the other stuff just that the challenge becomes so monumental that nothing else seems to be worth the time. Any thoughts?
Old 05-07-2012, 04:12 PM
Charter Member

I've been there with classical and flamenco over the years. And the joy out of playing and listening to other music forms waned. But after a few weeks or months (or years in a few cases), I always came back around to other music forms again. I get bored with ANYTHING if that's all I do, every day.

Years ago I quit playing classical/flamenco and just played electric for the past 15 years. But I've come back and been heavily into my own "flamenco-jazz" stuff and listening to Nuevo Flamenco players (Oscar Lopez, Strunz & Farah, Pavlo) since the first of the year. I sold a lot of my electric gear. But a few weeks ago I picked-up a Marshall DSL50 head for cheap and sat it on my lonely Marshall 1960B 4X12 cab, then cranked it up and remembered why I still like rock. I like to FEEL that power of a roaring stack behind me. Whether I'm shredding it up for leads, or just banging-out some simple 5 chords on an ACDC tune. So I may still be playing nylon and steel string acoustics all week long, but on the weekend I mix things up and re-acquaint myself with the kind of music that made me love music in the first place.
Old 05-07-2012, 04:33 PM