The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > RECORD

Old 05-13-2014, 01:49 PM

Default Simplifying ProTools and mixing essentials

Hey all,

I am new to ProTools. Very new. I just bought a used mbox 2 and a copy of ProTools 8 LE. Everything is working just fine.

I also bought a few books for learning ProTools, based on top Amazon reviews and recommendations on a few forums. Thing is, these books seem to be aimed at people who want to make a HOBBY/PROFESSION out of the software.

I just want to be able to write and record great sounding songs with the minimal of hassle.

Specifically, I'd like to record and mix an EP along the lines of Justin Vernon's For Emma, Forever Ago in terms of austerity and atmosphere. Other albums I dig the sound of: Tom Waits Mule Variations, Bruce Springsteen's Nebraska, or Neil Young's After the Gold Rush. Raw, simple, atmospheric, with some minimal effects and a few electric tracks.

What would be great is a course, a plan of study, or just some advice on how to simplify the INSANELY HUGE body of ProTools knowledge to meet my goals.

The question I'm trying to answer is what are the minimum topics that I need to know in order to do what I want to do? And what is the easiest way to learn them?

Any tips, advice, or suggestions would be HUGELY appreciated.

Thanks all!

EDIT: I want to create something that sounds DECENT, that I could use to market my music and maybe even get a Kickstarter going. Perhaps I set the bar too high before. I am looking to create a "demo" that friends and family would also like to listen to.

EDIT: Based on the responses in this thread, I've created a learning "blueprint" for PT/mixing essentials. If anyone else wants to comment, here's a link to the plan: http://www.acousticguitarforum.com/f...4&postcount=21. Cheers!

Last edited by ndog1980; 06-08-2014 at 05:48 PM.
Old 05-13-2014, 02:17 PM

Quote: