The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Build and Repair

Old 04-28-2021, 05:35 PM

Default Refinishing 12 string Body Top - update

Thanks for reading this update to a previous thread of mine.

I decided to scrape the lacquer from the top of the 1970 Suzuki 12 string as it had incurred some minor spruce damage during its un-useable bridge removal and the neck reset.

It took weeks of careful scraping back to the spruce and a light sand all over with 400 grit, and now it is ready for refinishing.

The spruce surface is fairly smooth, i.e. the grains can still just be felt. The top itself has hills and valleys all over due to its age, and as the top is ply construction, it wont be sanded flatter.

I have a lot of experience with spraying acrylic lacquer and also to a lesser extent spray shellac (Zinnser product) and would prefer to use either. I am thinking , due to the undulating surface, to go for a satin finish, and I dont mind if the spruce grain can still be just felt when finished.

However, bearing in mind my finishing preferences, I seek more advice please for what to use for a seal coat and application tips for this and the top coats.
https://i.imgur.com/pidjqix.jpg
Old 04-28-2021, 06:14 PM

Do you know what thickness the top is at the momment.

Anytime i refinish a top or back i measure its thickness first

Have turned a few jobs down, sometimes they are too thin already

Steve
Maton Messiah
Taylor 814CE
Old 04-28-2021, 09:06 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by donnyb View Post
I seek more advice please for what to use for a seal coat and application tips for this and the top coats.
https://i.imgur.com/pidjqix.jpg
I'd suggest, no matter what you use as a finish, to seal with Zinsser shellac sealer.
Old 04-28-2021, 11:30 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by mirwa View Post

Steve

I check and reply Mirwa.