The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Other Musical Instruments

Old 05-09-2018, 06:16 AM
Charter Member

Default Mandolin question from a grade 1 novice

I have been listening to some old The Band/Levon Helm music and starting to really get into the mandolin. I've been playing acoustic guitar for 40+ years but have never really played the mandolin. That said, what would those of you in the know recommend for a good starter model. I've seen them for $6-8K--hanging in a high-end store. That's not what I'm looking for. I also don't want a really cheap one that I will lose a lot if I sell, or would want to upgrade in a short while if I take to it. I'm would probably be more interested in something on the used market.

Your input would be appreciated.

Frank
Emerald X-20 Custom SS

Life's been good to me so far....
Old 05-09-2018, 07:34 AM
Charter Member

I started on a J. Bovier F5T which gets you a lot for its price point.
You also may want to check out the classifieds at the MandolinCafe forum.
Old 05-09-2018, 08:20 AM

The US-made Breedloves have taken kind of a beating on the used market value, so they seem like a pretty good buy right now (I'm quite happy with mine).
Otherwise the general recommendations are usually for a Kentucky or Eastman around the ~$500 price point, as mentioned, I'd have a look at mandolincafe.com for specific models.
Old 05-09-2018, 08:31 AM

The best advice I can give is:

1. Understand that quality mandolins have a carved top and carved back. A LOT of hours go into building one.

2. There are about 1000 guitar players to every one mandolin player. There are a LOT more guitars being sold than mandolins.