The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > RECORD

Old 03-31-2021, 07:29 AM

Default Help for a recording noob?

Hey there, I recently bought my first proper microphone https://www.akg.com/Microphones/Cond...C414+XLII.html. Probably overkill, but I have been playing for over 30 years and have recently been getting back into wanting to record my music so didn't want to get something too cheap.

I just wanted some advice on what to get next to complete my basic set-up.

I would like to record guitar, piano and vocals with my two kids and would prefer to record in a band setting rather than record one at a time.

Any advice would be most welcome. I've been reading up on a lot of this stuff, but it makes me dizzy after only half an hour given the amount of information out there.

I have a decent enough PC although I don't think it has USBC inputs. I have decent computer speakers, but I don't know whether I have to buy "studio monitors" as they call them.

I also plan to use my boss RC500 looper pedal so I can add a few layers during recording so I'm guessing I would just play this through my usual amp and mic up that amp directly possibly with another mic?

I don't have an audio interface or anything to plug the new mic into as yet apart from my looper. I also need to buy some mic stands.

Thanks,

and sorry for being such a noob.

When you write, you wouldn’t just throw words into a bowl. There has to be a beginning, middle and end. Same thing with phrasing on the guitar"

Jimmie Vaughan
Old 03-31-2021, 08:10 AM

There are many different paths and processes to accomplish what you want to do it is difficult to provide a simple and clear cut answer.

I'd recommend you first go through a few pages of topics in this forum and read the ones that relate to newbie recording. There's a lot of stuff that's covered there that would directly relate to what you want to do.