The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Other Musical Instruments

Old 01-24-2021, 02:40 AM

Default NUD

I'm new to ukulele but not stringed instruments - I've played many stringed instruments for many years - violin, viola, mandolin, mandola, octave mandolin, mandocello, guitar, resonators, banjo hybrids, etc.

I recently joined a popular ukulele forum and asked this, but only got one response. I know there are other uke players here, so.....

Never did much with classical guitar, so this is really my first nylon stringed instrument (Martin tenor T1K). One thing that surprised me so far is the action. Evidently 3 mm at the 12th fret is normal for a tenor uke. I set the action much lower on my steel string mandolins and guitars, even though I use medium to heavy strings. Another surprise is how much I have to keep tuning up. My other instruments settle in pretty quick with new strings, but the Martin strings on this uke (open gear tuners) are still stretching a lot.

So for those of you experienced uke players who also came from steel stringed instruments - what are other surprising or unexpected differences you've run across?
Old 01-24-2021, 09:20 AM
Charter Member

Im a guitarist/teacher first, I do also play/teach ukulele. It's a great, fun instrument. You will find that that the nylon strings WILL settle and require less tuning. You bought yourself a nice instrument T1K to learn/play on!
I would suggest at some point, trying different strings, of different materials. They will surprise you.
Enjoy!
jricc

Last edited by Kerbie; 01-25-2021 at 02:42 AM.
Old 01-24-2021, 11:10 AM

Chopping on the 2 and 4 on the uke is a good sub for a mandolin.

D.H.
Old 01-24-2021, 11:20 AM

The thing that makes uke interesting is all the right hand techniques -

Kind of the opposite of mandolin
Old 01-25-2021, 02:16 AM

Nylon strings, in general, can take longer to become stable, but they will.