The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Build and Repair

Old 07-10-2016, 03:50 PM

Question Please Help! High-pitched Ringing Noise on Certain Notes

Hey everyone!

I am very new to AGF, and I am liking it so far! I currently have a dilemma that has been going on for about a month now:

I have a lovely Taylor GS Mini-e Koa (I've had it for about 3 months), and it sounds great. However, as of about a month ago I have noticed a shrill metallic "ringing" noise that occurs when I play the open G string. The note itself is fine, but it sounds like there is an additional loud overtone/harmonic when the string is struck. I also notice it when the G string is fretted, up to around the 4th fret or so, but it is most noticeable as an open string. The ringing is more prominent when plugged into an amplifier, but it is definitely there acoustically (I recently recorded some music with it and I can hear it without an amp). The ringing occurs on the string that is being played, and immediately stops when the string is muted. I can also hear it a bit on the high e string.

I have tried muting the strings between the nut and the tuners, changing strings to different types/gauges, swapped out the bridge pins, changing to a bone nut, tightening every screw I could find, placing my hand on and around the saddle and top of the body, switching to E-flat standard tuning, but to no avail. I'm unsure of how to locate where the sound is coming from even.

I am currently in E standard tuning, using Elixir Polyweb Mediums (I first noticed the ringing while using Elixir Nanoweb PB Mediums).

Here is a brief audio clip.

Any ideas what could be causing the sound? Any help is greatly appreciated, I am getting a bit desperate!
Old 07-10-2016, 04:37 PM