The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 04-12-2012, 09:13 PM

Default A question on finger picking patterns

I primarily play fingerstyle but never really learned specific patterns and for the most part am self taught. When I started out, way back when, a friend showed me the basics of using your thumb for bass strings and your fingers for the treble strings and that was the extent of it. This was when I was a teenager and messed around with guitar for a few years (cowboy chords and remained a beginner) and then took a 35 year hiatus, I am now 62. I have been able to figure out a few songs where I can pick out the melody while finger picking but I simply do it because it sounds right to me with no real thought as to how I am doing it. I have been looking at specific patterns to get to another level in my playing and my question is how do you decide or know which pattern is most appropriate for a particular song? This may sound like a stupid question to the more advanced players but I would really like to progress to a more precise or exacting level of playing and not just use some random pattern because it sounds good to me. I know that I am missing out on some valuable knowledge. Thank you for reading this rather long post.
Old 04-12-2012, 09:17 PM
Charter Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by phxguy View Post
because it sounds good to me
This is the ultimate answer isn't it.

"Reality is that which when you stop believing in it, doesn't go away."

Woods hands pick by eye and ear
Made to one with pride and love
To be that we hold so dear
A voice from heavens above
Old 04-12-2012, 09:34 PM

rick-slo,

I appreciate your response but the ultimate problem is that it keeps my playing and repertoire of songs very limited if the melody doesn't fit into my basic fingerpicking style. I probably wasn't clear on that point.
Old 04-12-2012, 10:02 PM
Charter Member

Quote: