The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Acoustic Amplification

Old 10-10-2011, 07:01 PM

Default Help with pickups for a 71 Fender Strat

I have never owned an electric guitar and have only played one around 2 or 3 times. I've always wanted one and ended up getting a killer deal on a killer guitar that a friend in hard times had to sell. The guitar is a 71 Fender strat, but is pretty much gutted as far as electronics.
I am new to the whole electric scene/sound and was wondering on a good set of pickups for this sucker. I play fingerstyle 99% of the time so something that would lean towards that if it matters. Most likely lookin for a bluesy/rock sound.
Old 10-10-2011, 07:29 PM
Charter Member

Well, I'm partial to Fralin pickups, SRV (and lots of others) used them in some of his guitars ... And you can get them custom wound by callin Fralin directly. But there are plenty of other brands out there.

http://www.fralinpickups.com/stratstyle.asp
Old 10-11-2011, 07:16 AM

I'm a big fan of Lindy Fralin's pickups too but I like the Antiquitys that Seymour Duncan handwinds in his custom shop just as much. But you don't have to spend twice as much on boutique pickups to get great tone. Just off the top of my head, I'd suggest a Seymour Duncan SSL1 for the neck and SSL-1 RW/RP for the middle. That way you'll have humcancelling when the middle pickups is combined with the neck or bridge pickup. For the bridge, the Duncan Twangbanger is a great bridge pickup with some oomph.

I'd wire it like the drawing I included. This will give you every pickup combination. You'll have a master volume and master tone. The second tone control becomes a blender pot. When you're set to the neck pickup, the blender pot blends the bridge pickup into it. When youre set for the bridge pickup, the blender pot blends the neck pickup into it.