The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 07-01-2022, 09:59 AM

Default Correcting years of bad guitar posture and "couch slouch"

I'm realizing that I've done myself a huge disservice over the years by doing 90% of my practicing on the couch. I have a real nasty habit of slouching back and sort of laying the guitar across my hips when I do. The practical effect of this is that I'm a much better guitarist in this position, which doesn't translate neatly to sitting upright and holding the guitar properly.

I do a little bit better playing Spanish style, but it still isn't a perfect translation.

Obviously the answer is to correct my bad habits and to only play "correctly" moving forward. Has anyone else been through this before? It's awfully aggravating, especially since it would have been so easy to prevent.
Old 07-01-2022, 10:09 AM

It might be worth seeing a physical therapist and working on some exercises to improve upper back strength. Or even trying yoga. Yeah 30+ years of hunched over a computer cant be fixed easily.
Old 07-01-2022, 11:07 AM

Have you tried playing standing up, with a strap, lately?

I had to relearn how to play after a radial nerve injury and a significant change in bodyweight/proportions (long story) and whilst standing up was uncomfortable and alien at first, it was worth pushing through that as it made me seek the neck up, free left arm (not elbow on leg as I was in the bad habit of doing) when I eventually let myself sit down again.

It was basically self-correcting once I forced myself to habituate practicing whilst standing up.

Yamaha MIJ CJX32
Avalon L32
Avalon A32 Legacy
Lowden 022
Gibson J-185
Takamine TNV360sc
Cole Clark Fat Lady 3
Old 07-01-2022, 11:23 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by cc132 View Post