The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Carbon Fiber

Old 10-26-2018, 02:18 PM

Question Pre-Peavey CA Cargo vs Peavey CA Cargo

Hi,

I am new to the carbon fiber guitar world
I got my very first carbon fiber guitar (Emerald X20) in June this year.
But thinking hey maybe I will get travel size one day.
Reading through the threads, I see praises regarding pre-peavey over peavey cargo. Just wondering what the difference is between the two? (specs, sound, volume, playability etc)

Also, where do you buy them?

Past:
2015 --- Maton S60
2016 --- Mini Maton EM6
ft. AP5 Original
2017 --- Cole Clark CCAN2EC-SR
ft. 3-way pickup
2017 --- Cole Clark CCLL1RM

Current:
2017 --- Anuenue M200
2018 --- Emerald X20 Opus
ft. satin neck + LR Baggs Element
Old 10-26-2018, 03:15 PM
Guest 928

Albirw;

I've heard lots of praise for the pre-Peavey Cargo, but I've not heard anyone argue that the pre is better than the post. I've had both and think that Peavey has done a great job of improving what was a great instrument to begin with. The original had some quality problems that would pop up once in a while, but Peavey spent a lot of time working those problems out before allowing the guitar out of the shop.

I don't know who carries the Cargo, but you might want to check LA Guitar. That's where I bought my first Cargo. If you make contact, say hi to Ted for me. We're not buddies but I respect his business.
Old 10-26-2018, 03:44 PM
Charter Member

Good selection of Cargo's on Reverb.com and they pop up in the AGF classifieds on occasion. Mine is a post Peavey Carbon burst and it's one of my favorites. The playability of the previous version X7 was better with the longer scale, but I preferred the tone of the Cargo. I'd like to hear it compared to the new X7.
Old 10-26-2018, 04:27 PM

I never noticed much difference ... more string and setup differences I would dare say.
McPherson: Early Kevin Michael Proto