The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 09-21-2018, 04:37 PM
Charter Member

Default How do you write?

Hi all, I've been writing my own music for about a year now and am wondering how you "get in the zone" to come up with song ideas, specifically to create the tune and rhythm of a song.

I'm a writer at heart so lyrics aren't the tricky part, I actually really enjoy that process and am generally happy with what I come up with. It just seems like I'm never really thrilled with how a tune comes out, and I feel like a lot of the songs I write end up sounding really similar. I wonder if maybe playing and writing by myself too frequently leads to this.

I think I also try to compare myself to the artists I listen to as well. I write and play folk-rock/alt-country type music - artists I try to channel and am inspired by are Langhorne Slim, Gregory Alan Isakov, Rayland Baxter, Jim Croce, Townes Van Zandt, etc.

I think in some cases I'm overly critical of myself (as we all are), and also wonder if maybe some of the tunes I've written would really shine a bit more in my ears if there was a full band playing, instead of just me in my living room. Anyway, enough with my rant, but any ideas/tips/tricks would be much appreciated!
Old 09-21-2018, 05:20 PM

Long walks...

Theory is the post mortem of Music.
Old 09-21-2018, 06:19 PM
Guitar Gourmet

I studied composition in college where my professor said, "You just have to write. Don't feel inspired? It doesn't matter. Write." Somewhere in there, while I was writing weekly pieces on demand for school, I developed the ability to just kind of do it. I don't wait for the muse because she seems to always be on another street when I need her. So, these days I just grasp for someone's style and go for it.

Bob

THE MUSICIAN'S ROOM (my website)
Old 09-22-2018, 06:21 AM
Charter Member