The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Electric Guitars

Old 12-12-2023, 06:16 PM
Charter Member

Default How much non-amplified fret buzz is acceptable?

I am a bit of a noob to electric guitars, but I'm playing (and buying!) more of them lately due mostly to hand injuries and their ease of play. I'm pretty good at setting up acoustics, but I'm getting a bit of fret buzz on my electrics that I haven't yet figured out how to eliminate. I'm wondering whether a bit of acoustic buzz is considered to be acceptable on electric guitars, so long as it isn't obvious in the amplified sound, such as in my case. Is there any generally accepted opinion on this? Thanks for any thoughts.
Old 12-13-2023, 03:35 AM

Sure most players live with it.
When it kills your sustain or dynamics it’s too much imo though there are guys who even use that by choice.
If you’re playing with any overdrive as most players do, fret buzz incorporates into your amplified sound anyway.
Old 12-13-2023, 12:03 PM
Charter Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by hesson11 View Post
I am a bit of a noob to electric guitars, but I'm playing (and buying!) more of them lately due mostly to hand injuries and their ease of play. I'm pretty good at setting up acoustics, but I'm getting a bit of fret buzz on my electrics that I haven't yet figured out how to eliminate. I'm wondering whether a bit of acoustic buzz is considered to be acceptable on electric guitars, so long as it isn't obvious in the amplified sound, such as in my case. Is there any generally accepted opinion on this? Thanks for any thoughts.
Hi lesson…
I tolerate things with my Strat or Tele that would be unacceptable with my acoustics.

Mostly that's because I play amplified and cannot hear the buzz on stage, nor can the audience. That would not be the case with an acoustic.

Baby #1.1
Baby #1.2
Baby #02
Baby #03
Baby #04
Baby #05

Larry's songs...