The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Acoustic Amplification

Old 01-30-2024, 05:26 PM
Charter Member

Default Knowledge needed on amplifying guitars without pickups

I am fairly new to the acoustic world. One year in so far. I have a couple of questions as to amplifying my two Martins that do not have pickups installed. I probably will not have one installed either due to the fact that playing guitar is a strictly a hobby and I don't plan on gigging.
My goal is to get a close representation of what is coming out of my guitar and having it come back to my noggin.
Here is what I have done so far, and checking to see if making an upgrade in gear would really accomplish much. I dusted off my old microphone (shure pg58). I did the same with a basic mixer I have laying around (Mackie 402). I hooked the microphone up to the mixer and then over the the pa (Atomic CLR). I Play in front of the mic and the sound I get coming back seems to fine to my ear. Nothing earth shattering but fine. I would say the one complaint I have is that mixer does not have a lot of tone shaping ability. Also my microphone is maybe a little lower level in quality.
I play in an untreated room that I will not be spending money on to upgrade with sound treatment. I don't have golden ears, also I don't want to spend a lot of money to get that extra 5% better sound if you know what I mean. I could probably spend about $400 on used equipment. I would by locally from Facebook.
I don't really want to buy an Acoustic amp in that I am satisfied with the pa I already have. So would an upgraded mic, or mixer, or perhaps a pedal of some type greatly improve my listening pleasure? If you think so where would you suggest I spend my money? Any specific brand ideas as well?
Old 01-30-2024, 06:01 PM