The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 03-20-2014, 10:40 PM

Default This "beater" is a keeper, and the $100 mistake.

I wouldn't call myself a guitar player. I'm having trouble forming three major chords and switching between them. I am less than a beginner, if that is possible. I've owned two Ukuleles for several months and was having a blast with them. As a result, I decided to take the plunge into guitar a couple of months ago.

My first guitar purchase was a Martin 000-17SM. Just wonderful!

However, I am a truck driver at the moment. It is crowded in the truck and things get knocked around. I also tend to run the desert southwest (extremely low humidity) an awful lot. As a result, "Fairuza" spends a whole lot more time in the case than in my hands. My practice time has been rare.

To remedy that, I decided to get an inexpensive guitar I wouldn't cry over should it shrivel into a prune like state, turn to ash, and float away.

Yesterday, in haste, I bought a Samick D-1 Bennett something or other. It looked nice, was full on laminate, and seemed like it would fit the bill for just learning chords. I almost instantly had buyer's remorse. I spent most of the night reading glowing reviews trying to feel better about the purchase. I just was not feeling it. This particular one sounded bad. To be honest, I couldn't stand the headstock either. It did come with Grover tuners, but I just felt I had spent $169 on a guitar I was not going to be happy to live with. I had been pining for a Yamaha, but the stores in Cedar City, Utah had none. I bought the Samick in an immature fit of impatience.

I awoke this morning in El Monte, California. I tried working with the D-1 for about a half hour. Then I put it down, entered Guitar Center into the GPS... found one in Pasadena, unhooked from the trailer and bobtailed over there.