The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Build and Repair

Old 01-31-2013, 12:06 PM

Default using UV cured Polyester, any advice?

We have decided to take the plunge and invest in UV cured polyester finishing. We will be using a 1000 watt lamp from UV3.com, and Simtech coatings. Any advice from other builders out there who are currently using UV cured polyester on acoustic guitars?
Old 01-31-2013, 01:37 PM

I've been using UV for 3+ years. There is a learning curve so spray some practice boards (as I am sure you will.) I have found that working to higher grits of sanding will allow you less time on the buffing wheel. I use, 400, 600, 800, 1000, 1200, 1500, 2500, 3000. This stuff is hard so more time on the wheel means more heat. Not good! I use a larger diameter wheel at higher speed with a light touch. Seems like when I think I have a procedure that works, something changes. They didn't tell us that we would have to be chemists to build guitars. I'm always happy to talk to other using this system to compare notes. Overall I like the results. The best compliment I have had is when someone at the Montreal show asked what finish I was using. I replied UV Polyester and they said, "really, I though it was nitro." With a little practice you can achieve that "wet" look.
www.rockymtnguitar.com
Old 01-31-2013, 01:53 PM
AGF Sponsor

My advice would be to save some money and try the chemically cured polyester first. Its virtually the same product just a different method of curing which will yield the same results but 24 hours slower to the buffer instead of 24 seconds. I have been using it for the last 2 years and its THE hardest finish I have ever buffed. Its brutal!
Old 01-31-2013, 02:06 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim McKnight View Post