The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 10-07-2019, 04:13 AM

Default best strings for Godin A6 Ultra

Does anyone have a strong opinion about which strings sound "best" on hybrid guitars (I am new to this genre of guitar and jjust got an A6 ultra). I understand now the "basics" (i.e. need magnetically responsive metal for the humbucker, need the "meat" of acoustic strings to get the acoustic sound). I just put some Zebras on and it sounds like the two biggest strings are a little dead. (But maybe that's part of the compromise?) I also only wrapped like ONE coil around the tuning peg, and I usually do 2-4) I'm having my tech give it a once over today but I have read about "dead string" complaints re Zebras. I've got some veritas coming as well as some real Godin A6 strings and will try them all. I've got my first solo gig tomorrow.

Last edited by Kerbie; 10-20-2019 at 08:53 AM. Reason: Profanity
Old 10-07-2019, 05:13 AM

I have a similar hybrid, and use med-heavy electric strings on it. Gauge is 11-47 I think. They are basically the same makeup as Martin monels.
Old 10-07-2019, 05:28 AM

Are the Zebra's round wound? More wraps and no cut to length until installed might fix the dead string problems. When I owned an A6 Ultra I found that the humbucker was fine regardless of the wrap composition and used what sounded best acoustically between gigs.
IR Demo, read the description too: https://youtu.be/SELEE4yugjE
My duo's website and my email... [email protected]

Jon Fields
Old 10-20-2019, 08:45 AM

Default thank you