The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Acoustic Amplification

Old 07-04-2018, 10:13 AM

Default Bose S1 & Bose L1 Compact

Does anyone want to compare Bose S1 and Bose L1 Compact?
Old 07-04-2018, 05:13 PM
Charter Member

I have both. I like both. I consider the S1 to be "about half of an L1" but the S1 puts out surprisingly good sound for something so small. Want to really enjoy 'em? Run your guitar and mic into the S1, then a direct line out from that to the L1C.

I especially appreciate the reverb, the combo inputs and tone match on both channels on the S1. AND the battery power.

What the L1C has over it: in a not much bigger footprint (certainly smaller than an S1 on a stand), the L1C gives you the array portion up high and the bass unit at the floor. The bass unit speaker is larger (8" vs 6") and there are 6 2" speakers as opposed to the 3 in the S1.

I have been using the L1C for about 8 years, and it is a champ. You need to have power for it, and if like me, you want reverb, you need to add a pedal, the T1 from Bose, or something additional.

I have had the S1 for a month or so, and it continues to impress.

If the question is "Which one for you?", I would say it comes down to expected venue size (neither is going to be enough for a gig with a couple hundred people), power availability, and how "small" you want to travel. Both have a line out if you need to run this small rig to a board or larger PA.
Old 07-04-2018, 05:35 PM

The L1 Compact has been around for a long time (about 10 years ?) and while it's been one of the most successful PA systems ever, is it possible that an update or new model may come out soon ?
Old 07-04-2018, 10:35 PM

Thanks Captain J.

I forgot to mention that I'd like to compare these 2 without T1 for L1C (I have both T1 and L1C, but thinking about add S1)