The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Acoustic Amplification

Old 06-15-2018, 01:38 PM

Default How would an Alto Trouper speaker and Bose T4S sound?

Just wondering, cash is tight and want to buy a powered speaker/pa and a Bose T4S mixer. Is the speaker sound OK,,,,house use only. Use to amplify acoustic guitar and mic. I like the features of the Bose but not sure of the Alto Trouper.
If anyone is familiar,, please let me know what you think of this combo.

Thanks,
Dan
Old 06-15-2018, 05:33 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by D41Fan View Post
Just wondering, cash is tight and want to buy a powered speaker/pa and a Bose T4S mixer. Is the speaker sound OK,,,,house use only. Use to amplify acoustic guitar and mic. I like the features of the Bose but not sure of the Alto Trouper.

Thanks,
Dan
I have no experience with either piece of equipment, but IMO, having a good mixer as a foundation for your PA is the right move. As for the Alto Trouper, it would probably get you by until you can get something that will let your mixer shine. My preferences is for a 12" speaker on a pole. I have a friend that has 15" Altos that sound pretty darn good in the pubs where he plays.

I'm not a wealthy guy so I went with blue collar gear and started with an Allen and Heath 10fx and a Yamaha DBR12. I still have them and built up and out from there. I have no regrets.
The Old Lady
Goldilocks
Flipper

"Sometimes I play a song I never heard before" Thelonious Monk

Last edited by Irish Pennant; 06-15-2018 at 05:39 PM.
Old 06-15-2018, 07:37 PM
Charter Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by D41Fan View Post

Thanks,
Dan