The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Electric Guitars

Old 07-08-2020, 02:43 PM

Default Blasphemous here - do you think electric is more fun?

As you can tell from the title of the thread, this is quite a blasphemous statement on AGF, but do you feel the same?

Some background on my journey back and forth on this sentiment. I started playing 25 years ago. I was into grunge at that time and I was a poor college student, so I originally bought a cheap Epiphone strat copy and practice "amp" which was just, as far as I can tell, a speaker. It sounded awful, but it was better than nothing. About a year later, I saved and got a multi-effects unit which sounded better, but not amazing.

Then a year or so later, I played a friend's acoustic and loved the natural sound and the portability or being able to bring it any where. Being poor at the time, I realized you could get a decent acoustic for not a whole lot of money, but to get a good electric sound, you needed an expensive amp and guitar... and pedals too. So, eventually I got my first acoustic and started playing that more and more. I didn't really even look at electrics for years and years, and when I got a job and could afford more expensive guitars, I just got more expensive acoustics.

Within the last year or two, I realized decent electric setups were far cheaper. I didn't know if I wanted to play electric since I've been playing acoustic so long and got so used to the sound, so I got a cheap electric and a cheap tube amp, and it sounded so good. Soooo much better than my initial rig 25 years ago, for a lot less when adjusted for inflation. Then, I started getting into portable rigs like the Yamaha THR 30ii and now I can take my electric setup as easily (almost) as acoustic.