The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Classical

Old 09-26-2020, 02:16 PM

Default Pleasantly Surprised

Hello fellow classical guitar aficionados. I just joined this forum and I am looking forward to reading the threads here and possibly contributing what knowledge I have on the subject of classical guitar; the music and the instrument.

I have been studying and playing off and on for 50 years. I was forced to stop playing for 20 years due to an injury that damaged the nerves in my fretting hand and arm. It's a long long story and I won't bore you with the details. But that 20 year hiatus has forced me to almost start at the very beginning. I have a very beautiful 96 Burguet 2M Cedar, my pride and joy. When I discovered the sensation of touch coming back into my fingers and also discovered I had less pain associated with manipulating them I opened the case my Burguet had been sitting in for the past 20 years, pick it up and tried playing a few notes. Single notes were easy to play, but barre cords with stretches did and still do cause me moderate pain, but I bear with it. Learned over the past 20 years how to push that pain to the back of my mind.

I basically had to relearn everything to some degree. Reading sheet music for one thing was always my bane even when I was younger. I would take and memorize pieces several measures at a time. Back in my 20s and 30s and 40s my left hand was quite nimble, even though the spread of my fingers from thumb tip to pinky tip was and still is 7-1/4" (short), I was able to barre the 52mm nut. But at my age (70), and with the nerve damage and pain, playing intricate pieces on the Burguet is a challenge. Mostly, long practice sessions are the challenge.