The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 03-03-2021, 05:45 PM
Charter Member

Default brightness/warmth measurement

Is there a tool that can be used to objectively measure a guitar's brightness/warmth? Sorry, this may be a dumb question -- but I am not a sound expert. Just trying to see if I can do a side by side objective comparison of various guitars and/or strings.

Not sure if it's as simple as taking measurements on a frequency meter.
Old 03-03-2021, 06:29 PM

I am not aware of a meter that measures warmth. Everyone lands where their ear likes on that continuum. Pick what you like. You don't have to be an expert, you just have to recognize what pleases you. If you're not too fussy, all the better.
Alvarez 12 String
Gibson ES345s
Fender P-Bass
Gibson tenor banjo
Old 03-03-2021, 06:36 PM
Charter Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by jjhturbo View Post
Is there a tool that can be used to objectively measure a guitar's brightness/warmth? Sorry, this may be a dumb question -- but I am not a sound expert. Just trying to see if I can do a side by side objective comparison of various guitars and/or strings.

Not sure if it's as simple as taking measurements on a frequency meter.
Hi, firstly there is no dumb questions if you genuinely don't know, and want to know the answer.

There are various similar questions that may be pondered regarding music, musicians, and instruments, not least the questions I see on another forum as to which of two or three musiacians are the best.

Of course, there is no absolute measure of "best".

Similarly, the answer to your perfectly valid question is .... no.

I say that because, surely, brightness and warmth, are subjective judgements?

I guess there could be some sort of audio analysis of the volume of each string and compare them, but is that all there is to tonal quality?