The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Carbon Fiber

Old 11-14-2019, 10:03 PM

Default Emerald x20-12. NGD

Well, for the past while I have been gassing for a 12 string. I figure everybody needs one. I live in Tucson Az and caring for my good acoustics is a constant chore. A couple of years ago I bought a Rainsong 6 string and it has been a delight to own. Sounds great (and I love the N2 neck). I can ignore it when not using it, throw it in the trunk, take it Mexico, check it on airlines and not worry. So I thought I would investigate CF 12 strings. Emerald guitars caught my attention and I have been visiting their website intermittently for a couple of months. Last week Alister released his November Select series and I happened on the site the same day. I fell in love with the x20-12, it was available for immediate delivery! I bought it the same day and it arrived today!
Absolutely stunning guitar, perfect setup. I am still 'acclimatizing' myself to the 12 strings as this is my first. The sound port really provides the player with a full balanced sound. I have yet to record it. Will have to experiment with mic placement I am sure.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg X20-12 Kosipo (Ele) SS - 5472_10-1.jpg (24.0 KB, 111 views)

Last edited by al_az; 11-14-2019 at 10:49 PM.
Old 11-14-2019, 10:12 PM
Charter Member

Congrats! That is a beautiful guitar. The design and soundhole position on the X20 gives a great player experience. As you get more time with it, it will be great to hear your impressions.

The only downside I can think of with my Emeralds is they have spoiled other guitars for me.

Enjoy!
Old 11-14-2019, 11:27 PM

That's great! I think CF is a great idea for a 12-string. I have a Takamine wood (lam b&s) 12-string, and it's been solid as a rock, but it also weighs as much as a big rock. I'd imagine the X20 gets it done with less weight.
Old 11-15-2019, 03:31 AM
Charter Member