The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Build and Repair

Old 08-09-2013, 04:06 AM

Location: Darwin, Australia, 12.5 degrees south of the equator
Default Me and Rose Cliche

A quick bit of a intro and some background info about me. I am a professional woodworker and have worked in building, cabinetry, joinery and theatre set construction. I built my first guitar 20 years ago using the Cumpiano/Natelson book. I am now on my 9th acoustic and have built 4 electric, 3 ukuleles and 2 mandolins as well as drums, rumba boxes, marimbas and kalimbas.

Now Rose Cliche, my second parlour sized guitar, I have given it a deep body (I don't think I like the look of it) to try to get the air resonance as low as I can (doubt I will make one this deep again).

Back and sides and neck, New Guinea Rosewood (Narra)
Top, Sitka
Trim, Figured Blackwood (Black Acacia)
1 and 7/8 inch at the nut
25.5 inch scale
14 fret to body

I was not going to add any decoration to the set of guitars I am making at the moment but decided to add simple inlays cause I love making them.

Jim
Old 08-09-2013, 09:07 AM

Looks good. I know nothing about engraving except that every time I try it's the most frustrating thing ever

I guess you could always pop the back off and trim the sides down if you don't like the depth. You can get a good bass response on small guitars by thinning the top too.
Old 08-09-2013, 06:59 PM

Thanks Redir. The rose is not engraved, I just cut all the bits, spaced them out a little and fill with Stewy Mac black CA glue.

I will leave this one deep and see what it looks like finished then decide from there about the next one.

Yep the top is thin, it came down to 2.4mm (0.095 inch) and then I further thinned the perimeter down to 2mm (0.08 inch) tapering from about 50mm (2 inch) away from the edge down to the 2mm at the edge. Will add some pics of that process later.