The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Carbon Fiber

Old 02-22-2021, 05:26 PM

Default Restringing Journey OF660

Hello

Is there any special way to restring this guitar with the locking tuners due to the detachable neck? I noticed that the stock strings hardly had any turns around the posts when I received it.

I took them off and now I’m not convinced by the way the strings go loose at the posts with new ones I’ve put on.
Old 02-22-2021, 06:43 PM

Just like a normal guitar. Just make sure the locking mechanisms are open and you can pass the string through the eyelet. I know that you received it with the strings cut without any wraps but I would advise wrapping a couple times, lock, being to pitch and then clip. It won’t hurt anything. Here is a pic of mine

IMG_1614041005.685901.jpg
Old 02-22-2021, 07:26 PM
Charter Member

For full disclosure: I am new to locking tuners; the electric guitar I recently bought has them, and I really like 'em. What I read about using them was: pull the string relatively tight through the post, lock it down, trim the string, and tune... assuming about half around the post to bring the string up to tune.

I would think (and again, I am no expert) that multiple wraps around the post just means you are going to have a lot of tightening to do once you put the neck back on... the wraps are going to loosen when the neck is off. I think the locking tuners on the OF660 are there by design. Just thinking out loud... well, on-line, here.
Old 02-22-2021, 07:53 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Captain Jim View Post
For full disclosure: I am new to locking tuners; the electric guitar I recently bought has them, and I really like 'em. What I read about using them was: pull the string relatively tight through the post, lock it down, trim the string, and tune... assuming about half around the post to bring the string up to tune.