The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 02-01-2023, 12:50 PM
Charter Member

Default The Pressure Is On-Seeking Songwriting Advice

I’ve been playing for many years, and only have a small handful of original songs to show for it—mostly band-oriented stuff. Since I launched my solo acoustic endeavor last year, I’ve only written one song that I occasionally perform, and it’s become clear that I need to up my songwriting game in a big way as I’ve missed some opportunities. So, to help that along I put myself in an intentional bind and accepted a spot on a songwriter’s showcase set for April 17th. To add to the pressure, the event is at a pretty high level, with some very accomplished local singer-songwriters on the bill!

The good news is that I have a lot of song ideas in the bank, but I’ve struggled to move them beyond the idea stage. I can get easily distracted by working on other things such as learning new songs, practicing guitar, working on a website etc., not to mention other daily activities.

I’d love to hear some suggestions and strategies that have worked for the experienced songwriters out there that have overcome these challenges. My initial thought is to set aside a specific time each day to devote to songwriting—like punching a time clock and treating it like a job—which is something I learned at an Ian Tyson workshop. That strategy is also supported by hearing that John Prine had to move into a hotel room for a week or so to finish the material for his last album that he was lagging on. I only need 3 songs for this event, but my hope is to produce several more so I can pick and choose.
Whatcha got? And thanks!
Old 02-01-2023, 01:04 PM