The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Build and Repair

Old 09-14-2020, 05:54 PM

Default Pinless Bridge

I'm rejuvenating a mid to late 60s Regal Jumbo Western with a pinless bridge.
I have never done anything like this before, but feel confident that I can do it.
I've already fixed to major and one minor crack on the back and a minor one on the soundboard. Along with cleaning up the binding all around and de-gunking the fret board with a safety razor and a half dozen other miscellaneous things I found along the way.

I have been looking at guitar parts suppliers and I am having trouble even finding one. Everyone sells the pinned bridges, but with the exception of a classical guitar bridge, no pinless ones.

I also would like to get some sizes available for ready made ones, as I have no wood working skills or the tools that would come with such a hobby.

Does anyone know of a supplier that sells them retail?

I really appreciate y'all s help.

Ron

Old 09-14-2020, 06:56 PM

They can be had on ebay. They're pretty generic. Probably not much choice as far as different sizes. You'll have to drill holes for the two bolts, if you wish to use bolts, which might be wise for a pinless bridge.

Alternatively, you can convert to pin bridge, but that may be a significantly more complex undertaking if you've never done such a thing before.
Old 09-14-2020, 07:05 PM

My most recent guitar project I built with a pinless bridge, out of a desire to try lots of variations. For me, once was enough. Very difficult to adjust saddles. And I have no idea who sold it to me (online order).