The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Build and Repair

Old 02-25-2019, 03:29 PM

Question A little mahogany problem

I'm doing my first complete restoration on my old Guild d40. Thing have been going pretty well. Especially with all the Youtube help. The problem is that I have a small hole in the side caused my my over sanding. I sure am learning a lot doing this! I think I know how to repair the damage I've done but I need to find a small piece of mahogany about an inch and a half square that's the thickness of the side of the guitar which is probably about an eight of an inch. My question is where in the heck do I find a small piece of mahogany like that. Since this is my first try restoring a guitar I don't have any leftover wood laying around, especially mahogany. Any suggestion would be very much appreciated... Thanks in advance....
Old 02-25-2019, 03:49 PM

Where in the world are you? I've got cutoffs I could stick in an envelope and send you, if you want to pm me your address. Attaching a photo might be helpful.
et al
Old 02-25-2019, 05:59 PM

That is a very generous offer, and nice to see

Steve
Maton Messiah
Taylor 814CE
Old 02-25-2019, 06:48 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rodger Knox View Post
Where in the world are you? I've got cutoffs I could stick in an envelope and send you, if you want to pm me your address. Attaching a photo might be helpful.
This is one of the many reasons that I love this forum. It's filled with good people helping one another.
1983 Washburn Timber Ridge Custom
- Fishman Onboard Prefix Premium Blend & - Schatten HFN passive
2016 Gibson J-45 Standard
- Fishman Onboard Prefix Premium Blend & - Schatten HFN passive backup
Tonedexter & Sunnaudio Stage DI
1990 Yamaha FS-310

Past:
1995 Martin D-28
2015 Eastman E10SS
Old 02-25-2019, 07:45 PM
AGF Sponsor