The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > PLAY and Write

Old 01-01-2019, 05:01 PM

Default Fingerstyle ring finger problem

I've been playing fingerstyle for quite a few years and have always used all the fingers except the pinky. Lately though, I've really started to notice that when I play the top string with my ring finger, it just doesn't sound as full/rounded as when I hit it with the middle finger. In fact, it sounds quite shrill in comparison, which isn't good at all! To be honest, I have noticed it before, but it's really started to bother me since I decided to improve my right hand technique etc.

And I'm pretty sure my nails are well cut, I just can't get the sound with my ring to match that of the middle finger, which I'm guessing is a common problem, because I notice many players don't use the ring finger...?? I do know the Africans use their thumb and first finger so there's a more even sound, but that doesn't really help because I'm used to using three fingers - it's just that the it's really jumping out at me now when I hit the top string and it sounds, well, terrible!

Any suggestions? Thanks...
Old 01-01-2019, 05:52 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Martie View Post
..I've been playing fingerstyle for quite a few years and have always used all the fingers except the pinky. Lately though, I've really started to notice that when I play the top string with my ring finger, it just doesn't sound as full/rounded as when I hit it with the middle finger......:
By "top string" what are you referring to? To me, the "top string" is always the low E or 6th string. I don't believe I have ever picked that string with a middle or ring finger. For me, that is always going to be thumb or index finger. That's not to say you shouldn't or can't but I see no purpose for doing so. Also, using the pinky is fine too.
Old 01-01-2019, 06:08 PM