The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Acoustic Amplification

Old 03-23-2019, 01:40 PM

Default Getting into loopers? Help!

Hi there
My gigging experience is completely Church based. I accompany the songs at Messy Church with my guitar. I am not a religious person but my neighbour is and asked me to fulfil this roll. I basically play through my Marshall amp and the Church PA system and for strumming along to songs its fine. There is a guy there who sets up the sound and I just play and sing and the youngsters join in. I am a complete novice when it comes to the electronics side of performing. I have a Shure Mic and the amp is set up with a little reverb and chorus. I thought it was time to look into some more effects to add some colour to the experience. I was thinking I would start with a looper pedal and then investigate backing tracks et al. So can anyone suggest a good looper pedal for an effects novice? Would really appreciate some guidance and in layman's terms so to speak as i really don't speak the Tech lingo.
D45 Replica in open D
Squier Classic Vibe 50s Telecaster
Marshall AS50D Amp.
Line 6 Amplifi 30
Blackstar HT1R Tube Amp
DigiTech JamMan Stereo Looper Pedal
Old 03-23-2019, 02:42 PM

I have the Boss RC-3 and it's awesome! It is pretty easy to use and doesn't break the bank (I got mine for under $100).
Epiphone Sheraton 2 Pro
Gibson Les Paul Studio
Fender Stratocaster MIM w/ noiseless pickups
Old 03-23-2019, 02:45 PM

If you want to try a simple looper, I recommend the Boss RC-1. Nice simple pedal that has a visual representation of where you are in the loop in the form of a small ring of lights that count down the loop. Stomp and play, stomp again and you are overdubbing. The double stomp to stop is a pain, but you get used to it - or you can add an extra foot switch like I do for a one-stomp stop.