The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > Acoustic Amplification

Old 04-08-2016, 08:23 AM

Question Pre-Amp/EQ/DI vs. DI and Separate EQ... Thoughts?

I have been playing live music for a few years and I am starting to put together a pedalboard. I have a Seagull Mini-Jumbo with a Q1 pickup and an Allen and Heath ZED board. I have been fairly pleased with the EQ'ing I can do with my board, but am looking for something with more control as I search for the "perfect" sound to my ears.

I currently use a Radial J48 DI box but have been reading reviews about the Radial Tonebone PZ-PRE, and it sounds like a stellar unit. I have also read reviews about the Carl Martin Parametric EQ pedal, and it seems to be a pedal that performs very well with acoustic instruments as well. I am torn on which pedal to try... Do I stick with the Radial DI box and get the Carl Martin EQ pedal, or do I try the PZ-PRE with the built-in EQ section and DI feature?

Is the Carl Martin EQ going to give me more control, and overall better sound than the built-in EQ on the PZ-PRE? Or is the EQ on the PZ-PRE more than adequate? Does anyone have any experience with either of these pedals? Any thoughts would be appreciated, and I am totally open to suggestions of other pedals that may work just as well.

Thanks in advance for your input!
Old 04-08-2016, 08:36 AM

I would stick with what you have. But to satisfy your curiosity, why don't you get the pz-pre from a store with a good return policy so you can try it out with the rest of your gear.

I just don't like the idea of going through two preamps.

Bob.
Guild GAD25
Yamaha FG413S / FG200 / FG800
Old 04-08-2016, 08:52 AM

Question

Thanks for the reply, Bob. So you think that it may not be the best idea to combine a pre-amp in my pedal board with the pre-amp in the A&H board?
Old 04-08-2016, 09:21 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by JWJ915 View Post