The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 05-29-2023, 09:46 AM

Default How do I verify if a Martin D-28 is a "Custom-Shop"?

I'm tentatively picking up a used Martin D-28 "Custom Shop" in a few days, and I'm wondering how to verify if the guitar is indeed a "Custom-Shop" D-28. The store has referred to the guitar as an "HD-28",,, and sometimes as a "Custom-Shop D-28". I presume the precise model name is "burned" into the heel of the neck, visible inside the body cavity. Would it actually say "Custom-Shop D-28"??

I tried searching yesterday, and couldn't find a Custom-Shop model with the letters HD-28,,, only Custom-Shop D-28 (no letter H).

Also, how would I determine the age of the guitar? and is it possible to determine what the top wood is? (Adirondak vs Sitka for example.)

Thanks in advance. Aside from my old Martin Shenandoah 12-string (D28-12V), I'm new to Martin model names,
Old 05-29-2023, 09:51 AM

As a general rule, anything from the custom shop simply has "Custom" stamped into the head block, and does not include a model number. For example, my 1990 custom shop J40 only said Custom and there was no marking anywhere referring to a J40, which was the basis of the custom build. You would need to contact Martin with the serial number and get the actual build sheet. Perhaps your dealer can help you get that....
Old 05-29-2023, 09:57 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bobby1note View Post

Also, how would I determine the age of the guitar?
You can determine the age of the guitar by its serial number. Here's a link: https://www.martinguitar.com/custome...er-lookup.html
Old 05-29-2023, 09:59 AM
Charter Member