The Acoustic Guitar Forum

Go Back   The Acoustic Guitar Forum > General Acoustic Guitar and Amplification Discussion > General Acoustic Guitar Discussion

Old 02-24-2021, 09:33 AM

Default Opinions on Breedlove Concertina

Newbie here. I currently have a Taylor AD27e that I love. I’m looking for something a little smaller that I can travel in an RV with. Unfortunately there are no stores near me to try a bunch of different guitars.

My local shop only has a limited selection of Taylor’s. I tried the GS mini and didn’t care for the scale length. I liked the Big Baby but can’t get past the screwed on neck. I really like the GT Urban but it is a bit too pricey.

Been considering the Martin DJr-10 but I am really interested in the Breedlove Artista Concertina Natural Shadow CE. I’m having trouble finding any reviews though. Does the Breedlove compare to the Martin or Taylor in this price range ($500 to $1000)? I would really appreciate any input from you guys.

Last edited by Jimmy4570; 02-24-2021 at 09:56 AM.
Old 02-24-2021, 10:21 AM
Charter Member

I haven't played an Artista, but I have a Premier Concertina. And I've had several Taylors (including a GS Mini and a BBT). I really like the Concertina body size. That, plus being 12-fret makes it very comfortable. Mine has a very nice bass presence and is responsive. Perhaps not as bright as, say, the BBT.

I bought the GS Mini with the intention of it being a travel guitar, mostly for road trips, but possibly by air (that was pre-Covid). Even though it's small - smaller than the Concertina, I found it a little too big as a travel guitar. If you're looking at something mainly for travel, have you considered other options - like Journey, Voyage Air, or (my personal favorite) the Furch Little Jane?
Old 02-24-2021, 11:05 AM

Thank you for the quick reply. On paper, the Breedlove Concertina body is similar in size to the GS Mini. Is this not the case?